The village is situated near the fortress of Soroca, only at 10 km from village Soroca. The village and its estate are still surrounded by forests with secular trees.
At the bottom of the village there is a good stone quarry as it is no longer in Moldavia, it dominates on 3-4 km of the Nistru River. In the „Jeloboc” forest of Cosauti boasts a precious oak on a particularly valuable forestry sector. The tree has over 280 years, a diameter of 123 cm and a height of about 30 m. The documentary village is certified in a charter signed by Bogdan III, ruler of Moldavia, on January 17, 1517, which was given to Luca Arbore, head of Suceava.
In this village is a monastery, named „Acoperământul Maicii Domnului”.
The oral tradition has preserved for posterity both the year of the foundation of the Cosauti hermitage, 1729, and the names of the founders – Paul (Dubina) and Gavriil. The Cosăuţi Hermitage was raised at a distance of 1.5 km from the source of the river Iorginţi, a right tributary of the Nistru River, in a gorge, three sides surrounded by hills and the northern part of the river Nistru. It was called Cosauti after the name of the estate where it was raised. At 1,5 km from the place where the old monastery was located, in the upper part of the limestone terraces (the right bank of the Nistru River), an old cell is excavated in the rock, called by the locals the Monastery in Chalk. In 1812-1813, with the creation of the Diocese of Chisinau and Hotin, at the insistence of the new exarch, Metropolitan Gavriil Bănulescu-Bodoni, the Cosăuţi hermit gets the status of monastery.
The monastery has a library.
Sources: Satul Cosăuţi din Soroca – http://orasulsoroca.blogspot.md/2016/04/satul-cosauti-din-soroca.html
Mănăstirea Acoperămîntul Maicii Domnului, s. Cosăuţi, r. Soroca – http://ortodox.md/manastirea-acoperamantul-maicii-domnului-s-cosauti-r-soroca/